Preface

Going the extra mile

Pioneering. The passion of pioneering is a key element of our research centre’s DNA. Our research is not limited by the boundaries of what we know. We explore. We sound out the frontiers of knowledge. We have the guts to challenge ourselves and conquer unknown territories. We continue to move up a gear.

We always go the extra mile. An extra mile in our preparations, operations and finishing. Always considering both man and environment. I kindly invite you to browse through this annual report and to join us in going the extra mile.

Eric van Walle,

Director General

 
 
 
1
1

Going the extra mile

Green light for MYRRHA

An extra mile in our preparations. Take, for instance, the unique research infrastructure MYRRHA. In 2018, the Belgian government gave the green light for its construction. This decision was taken thanks to the detailed preparation of our employees, who in the previous year had submitted a comprehensive MYRRHA file to the government. In the meantime, we continued our operations full speed. The particle accelerator, which will feed the research reactor, has grown several metres.

The lead-bismuth cooling agent was subjected to various simulation tests. The first results of this large-scale experiment came in 2018: cooling remains warranted.

Government decisionParticle acceleratorCooling

Bringing knowledge to life

The same dedication resulted in a breakthrough in the RECUMO file. The RECUMO project offers our research centre a structural solution for the management of highly radioactive residues from the production of medical radio-isotopes, which are now being stored on the site of the National Institute for Radio Elements in Fleurus. Also the spent fuel generated by nuclear reactors became a focus point in 2018. How will this spent fuel react when being stored directly underground?

Will we be able to separate the radionuclides in fractions so as to enable a more targeted and efficient management? We also used our knowledge to the benefit of others: by performing materials research for France and by making young people familiar with nuclear science in a playful way.

RECUMOStorageMaterials researchYoung people

“We must keep investing in order to preserve and deepen our nuclear knowledge. This knowledge is useful to manage nuclear waste safely, dismantle nuclear power plants and ensure the production of radioisotopes.”

Sven van den Berghe

Institute Director Nuclear Materials Sciences

 
 
1
1

Holding back cancer

An extra mile in our operations. We proverbially hit the brakes to put a stop to cancer. On the one hand by expanding our production with two new medical radio-isotopes, on the other hand by setting up NURA. With NURA – a nuclear medical centre of excellence – we will perform research for clinical and industrial partners into radiopharmaceuticals for treating different types of cancer.

Next to performing research, we also have the ambition to become a stable supplier of therapeutic isotopes. By doing all this internally, we can warrant the superior quality of the development track.

NURARadio-isotopes

A heart for both man and environment

An extra mile in our finishing. In 2018, we also put on a final sprint towards the finishing line of several challenging projects. We completed the EME building – with its high-tech equipment and brand new emergency planning room. Two difficult dismantling projects were brought to a successful conclusion. An exploratory literature study identified duckweed as a suitable candidate to filter radionuclides from contaminated water. Now, it’s time to test this result against reality and start experimenting with this amazing plant.

Speaking about greenery: by signing the green deal ‘Businesses and biodiversity”, we show our commitment towards a more eco-friendly management of our domain. A win-win situation for nature and our employees.

EME buildingDuckweedDismantlingGreen deal

“In 2018, the achievement level – financial growth chart – reached a better result than ever before. To carry on this growth, planning remains an important focus.”

Kathleen Overmeer

Institute Director General Services and Administration

 
 
 
1
1

Key Figures

Income 2018 (in %)

Turnover

Subsidies from government, grants

Other

Financial income

Extraordinary income

Charges

Personnel costs

Purchases, services

Provisions

Depreciation

837

Employees

86

PHD Students

45

Nationalities

503

Scientific publications & Presentations

SCK•CEN

Highlights

2018

Download pdf

Avant-propos

Going the extra mile

Faire œuvre de pionnier. La passion de faire œuvre de pionnier représente l’ADN de notre centre de recherche. Notre recherche ne reste pas dans les limites du connu. Nous explorons. Nous tâtons les limites. Nous avons le cran pour nous poser des défis et conquérir des territoires inconnus. En consentant un effort supplémentaire à chaque fois.

We always go the extra mile. Un mile de plus dans la préparation, l’exécution et la finition. En tenant toujours compte de l’homme et de l’environnement. Je vous invite à vous plonger dans ce rapport annuel et à parcourir à nouveau avec nous le mile de plus.

Eric van Walle,

Directeur Général

 
 
 
1
1

Going the extra mile

Feu vert pour MYRRHA

Un mile de plus dans la préparation. Prenez, par exemple, l’infrastructure de recherche unique MYRRHA. En 2018, le gouvernement belge a donné le feu vert pour sa construction. Cette décision est tombée grâce à la préparation détaillée de nos collaborateurs qui, l’année d’avant, avaient introduit un dossier MYRRHA complet auprès du gouvernement. Dans l’intervalle, nous ne sommes pas restés une seconde tranquilles. L’accélérateur de particules qui alimentera le réacteur de recherche a progressé de plusieurs mètres.

Le réfrigérant au plomb-bismuth a été soumis de nouveau à toute une série d’essais de simulation. En 2018, les premiers résultats de cette expérience à grande échelle sont sortis : le refroidissement reste garanti.

Décision du gouvernementAccélérateur de particulesRefroidissement

Connaissances pour la vie

La même sollicitude a débouché sur une percée dans le dossier RECUMO. Avec RECUMO, notre centre de recherche propose une solution structurelle pour la gestion de résidus hautement radioactifs provenant de la production de radio-isotopes médicaux qui sont aujourd’hui stockés sur le site de l’Institut National des Radioéléments à Fleurus. De même, la matière fissile consommée des réacteurs nucléaires a attiré notre attention en 2018. Comment réagit ce spent fuel si nous l’enfouissons directement dans le sous-sol?

Pouvons-nous séparer les radionucléides présents en fractions pour gérer ceux-ci de manière plus ciblée et plus efficace? Ensuite, nous avons insisté sur nos connaissances: littéralement en exécutant une recherche sur le matériau pour le compte de la France, au figuré en faisant faire connaissance aux jeunes en se jouant avec la science nucléaire.

RECUMOEnfouissementRecherche sur le matériauJeunes

“Il nous faut continuer à investir afin de maintenir les connaissances nucléaires et de les approfondir. Ces connaissances sont utiles pour la gestion sûre des déchets nucléaires, le démantèlement des centrales nucléaires et pour assurer la sécurité de production de radio-isotopes.”

Sven van den Berghe

Directeur d’institut science des matériaux nucléaires

 
 
1
1

Une entrave sérieuse au cancer

Un mile de plus dans l’exécution. À l’instar du proverbe, nous entravons sérieusement le cancer pour lui dire de s’arrêter. D’une part, en augmentant notre production avec deux nouveaux radio-isotopes médicaux, d’autre part, en constituant NURA. Avec NURA, un nuclear medical center of excellence, nous allons mener, pour le compte de partenaires cliniques et industriels, une recherche sur les produits radiopharmaceutiques afin de traiter différents types de cancer.

Outre la recherche, nous avons aussi l’ambition de devenir un fournisseur stable d’isotopes thérapeutiques. Étant donné que tout ceci a lieu en interne, nous pouvons garantir une qualité supérieure du trajet de développement.

NURARadio-isotopes

Un cœur pour l’homme et l’environnement

Un mile de plus dans la finition. L’année 2018 a aussi été un sprint jusqu’à la ligne d’arrivée de projets synonymes de défis. C’est ainsi que nous avons mis la dernière main au bâtiment EME, avec ses agencements à haute technologie et sa chambre d’urgence flambant neuve. Deux projets de démantèlement corsés ont été menés à bonne fin. Une étude exploratoire de la bibliographie a montré que la lentille d’eau était une candidate appropriée pour filtrer les radionucléides à partir d’une eau contaminée. Il est temps de confronter ce résultat à la réalité et d’expérimenter ce végétal fantastique!

En parlant de végétal… Avec la signature du green deal « Entreprises et biodiversité », nous nous engageons à gérer notre domaine de manière plus écologique. Une situation win-win pour la nature et les collaborateurs.

Bâtiment EMELentille d’eauDémantèlementGreen deal

“Le taux de réalisation, la mesure de croissance financière, affiche un résultat inédit en 2018. Afin de persévérer dans cette croissance, planifier demeure un point d’attention essentiel.”

Kathleen Overmeer

Directrice d’institut Services généraux et Administration

 
 
 
1
1

Chiffres clés

Produits 2018 (in %)

Chiffre d'affaires
Dotation fédérale, subsides et capital
Autres
Produits financiers
Produits exceptionnels

Charges

Rénumérations

Achats et services

Provisions

Amortissements

837

Travailleurs

86

Doctorants

45

Nationalités

503

Publications Scientifiques & Présentations

SCK•CEN

L’essentiel

2018

Téléchargez le pdf